Faculty Awards Corner


Chadi Abbas, Certified Pharmacy Technician

Received the Pharmacy Technician of the Year Award from the Southeastern Michigan Society of Healthsystem Pharmacists in 2016.

Glenn Kay II, Welding & Fabrication Faculty

Received the Teaching of the Year Award from Practical Welding.

Molly Ledermann, Faculty Librarian

Received the national “I Love My Librarian” award sponsored by The Carnegie Corporation of New York, The New York Times and The American Library Association in 2014.

Sandy McCarthy, Faculty Librarian

Received the 2005 Walter H. Kaiser Award from Michigan Library Association for the creation and administration of Michigan Virtual Reference Service Collaborative in serving libraries in Michigan.

Monica Milla, Community Enrichment Instructor

Received an award in 2017 from Washtenaw County’s Environmental Excellence Partnership Program for her outstanding work in the Swift Run watershed.

Lylanne Musselman, Arts & Sciences Faculty

Selected as a woman director in BoxFest Detroit 2015. Also received the Audience Choice Award for Writing.

Jas Obrecht, English Faculty

Won the Blues Book of the Year Award for Early Blues: The First Stars of the Blues Guitar, which was also published in Japanese by the Tokyo Rittor Company.

Tom Penird, Industrial Technology Faculty

Received the 2017 Michigan Community College Association Outstanding Faculty Award, which is presented each year to a Michigan community college faculty member for his/her achievement in teaching, service to humanity, and strong commitment to the purpose and philosophy of the community college mission.

Donna Rochester, Business & Computer Technologies Faculty

Recognized in 2017 by Winning Futures for her volunteer work as a mentor providing goal-setting and skill-building coaching for middle and high school students.

Keila Samuels, Pharmacy Technology Faculty

Received the Alumni Service Award in Pharmacy from the University of Michigan.

Tina Sprague, Dental Assistant Faculty

Completed her fellowship award from the American Dental Assistants Association in 2016.

Emily Thompson, Life Sciences Faculty

Received the Outstanding Science Educator Award for 2017 from the Metropolitan Detroit Science Teachers Association.

Cathy VanVoorhis, Art Faculty

Received the Juror’s Award of Merit for 2-D Work from the Annual Greater Michigan Art Exhibition.

Lisa Veasey, English Faculty

Received the Distinguished Chapter Service Award from the Society for Technical Communication.